Special Message from Todd Thornton
New Kentucky Real Estate License Requirements
These new rules are most commonly referred to as “Post-license education.” Here’s the exact language of the new Kentucky Statute.
“Post-license education” means the forty-eight (48) hours of commission-approved education required within two (2) years of receiving or activating an initial sales associate license.
Here’s the abbreviated version of what you should know.
1) Anyone who already has a real estate license before January 1st, 2016 will be exempt from the new requirement.
2) Anyone who is licensed after Jan 1st, 2016 who fails to complete the additional 48 hours within 2 years will have their license canceled.
3) The 48 hours can be taken from either an approved real estate school or an approved broker-affiliated training program.
A licensee shall complete forty-eight (48) classroom or online hours of commission-approved post-license education within two (2) years of receiving or activating his or her initial sales associate license, provided by one (1) or a combination of the following:
(a) An accredited institution; or
(b) A commission-approved:
1. Real estate school; or
2. Broker-affiliated training program.
The Kentucky Real Estate Commission (KREC) has the duty of creating administrative regulations concerning the implementation of the new statute. Once they post additional information we’ll update this page. For a detailed explanation of how this will affect you and why we don’t believe you’ll have online options for this training, listed to the audio clip above.